Smorgasbord of Wildlife – healing my world.

_1653

.

Saturday 1366  – 31.05.2014

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

.

On this  Saturday I could have written about how women are still repressed and heavily discriminated against throughout the world. This on the back of what has happened in India with the gang rape and hanging of 2 teenage girls and in Sudan the sentencing to death of a pregnant woman for Apostasy (  supposedly abandoning the Muslim faith. )  Indeed both of these events made me angry and left me with the feeling that for every step towards equality, that women make, there are 2 steps back away from it.

So I instead I was taken back to why I started this blog in the first place and that was to not only write about what I’m thinking but also to encourage me to get out there and experience things on the last 1500 Saturdays of my life ( 1365 left now ! )  

This Saturday 31 May 2014 was spent in the company of my 2 lovely grown-up children Katy and Steven, along with lots of seals and birds.  I’m sure I have said on this blog before how healing I find nature to be and this Saturday was no exception. 

It began on the North Norfolk Coast at Blakeney point which is owned and managed by the National Trust. We visited the 4 mile sand and shingle spit  by boat, to see the seals that inhabit the area and luckily the sun came out for a while which both the humans and the seals enjoyed !.

_1650 _1654 _1655

This one below is my favourite – contentment or what!

_1651

Oh and these are some of the people watching the seals, who don’t seem to mind one bit with some of them swimming out towards the boats to get a look at the people which seemed only fair !

_1652

 

On the way home we decided to drive the longer way home down the coast and I said to the kids if either of them saw something and wanted to stop to give me a shout.  Steven did at the RSPB ( Royal Society for the Protection  of Birds) site Titchwell Marsh. To be honest I was a bit tired at this point but had agreed we’d stop so stop we did and thank you Steven we had a great time.. my first time seeing the very elegant Avocets as well as other birds ( and humans – Photos below though it was a very grey afternoon so not all the photos are sharp!  :) 

Avocets

drops

twosome

Black-headed Gulls ( I love their red legs and beaks)

_1656

The nest of the black- headed gull – in a lagoon with green algae bloom, which I thought rather added to the photo.

_1658

Redshanks.

_1659

Titchwell Marsh leads down to and includes a section of beach and here are some bird watchers with their telescopes down there.  It seems Bird watching is a very serious business of the size of their equipment is anything to go by. !

_1657

 Ended the day tired but de-stressed and very happy. The problems  for women in the world remain but my batteries are now recharged and I feel better able to cope with it.

You can find out more about Titchwell Marsh and the RSPB here >>  http://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/t/titchwellmarsh/star_species.aspx  and Blakeney National Nature Reserve here  >> http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/blakeney/visitor-information/

If you are feeling stressed ,or overwhelmed with the pace of life , I strongly recommend getting out there and steeping yourself in nature !

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here  and I’m sure there might be some more photos from here over there :)

.

10 comments on “Smorgasbord of Wildlife – healing my world.

  1. My Heartsong says:

    What I like about the incidents in India is the public outcry against these abhorrent acts -gives me hope.Your photos of nature are lovely , I enjoyed the journey with you.

  2. scillagrace says:

    Nature is the antidote to humanity for Steve & me, too! But let’s not forget that humanity is nature, too. (although that’s tough sometimes!)

  3. LensScaper says:

    It looks like you had a marvelous day, Helen, and some great images. There’s nothing like getting out in the wilds to help us to de-stress. And even the sun shone. I was busy mowing grass and cutting hedges.

  4. elisa ruland says:

    Fabulous photographs. I’m glad you were able to get out and enjoy nature and to decompress.

  5. […] I have posted this photo over on my other blog 1500 Saturdays. Take a look over there to see where this was taken and for more photos.  Click here […]

Leave a Reply

