February 11th – My Birthday and World Happy Day

Saturday 1485 – February 11th 2012

Last weeks post It’s a Big Issue was pretty serious and as this Saturday was both my Birthday and World Happy Day  ( which you can read about on the Action For Happiness website here  ) I thought I’d just write about the joyful day I had today.

Those who have been following  this blog for a while will know that photography is one of the things that makes me VERY happy and today was filled with that.  I was out most of the day  ( with a little interlude at my daughter’s ) tramping around fields in the snow.

After years of saying how much I hate snow, this year I have decided I love it ! Well I do when we get the sort of snow we have at the moment which is powdery and dry.

So not many words from me for once.. ( try not to sigh with relief quite so loudly! )… here are a few photos combining my love of light, trees and now snow too.

 

My gorgeous weeping willow tree at 7.30 a.m when it was minus 12 !

 

 

.

 

 

 

12 Feb update -Ziggyshortcrust liked the tree above and it gave her inspiration for one of her Five Minute Faces … you can see the Tree Elf inspired by this tree here

I love the sharing blogosphere 🙂

 

.

I’ll be posting more snowy scenes on my photography blog here –  Photomania   

The day was rounded off with a trip to the theatre with 2 friends of mine. We saw the VERY bawdy but terrific Canterbury Tales so I’ll leave you with a couple of photos from that – I decided not to post the one where a cast member sticks his bare bottom out of a window !!!!!

.

   

 

 .

.

 Saturday girl is off to catch up on all her favourite blogs – Goodbye ’til next week..

P.S – The links seem to be a bit Iffy this week. I needed to place my curser way underneath the actual link to open the one I wanted… try that if they don’t seem to work for you. Thanks

27 comments on “February 11th – My Birthday and World Happy Day

  1. […] had Birthday celebrations, hen do’s and weddings. I’ve loved and been loved ( I’m not […]

  2. […] follow my blog will know that it was my birthday last Saturday ( you can read about that day here ) and I decided I would do something  that I had been meaning to do again for a long […]

  3. mj monaghan says:

    All I can say is MINUS 12?? Are you crazy – that’s way too cold! 🙂

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    A belated happy birthday!

    I love the willow photo.

  5. niasunset says:

    Happy Birthday dear Helen, I hope you had a nice birthday and weekend. Maybe you know, I don’t like snow too but with my camera I love snow now 🙂 Your snow photographs are amazing, fascinating… You did a great set. And also these group’s photographs are so nice too, I wished to watch them too. Thank you dear Helen, with my love, nia

  6. ~mimo~ says:

    Happy Birthday to you!! Beautiful images!

  7. Great images here, and Happy Belated Birthday! 🙂

  8. Jacqueline says:

    Happy Happy Birthday!

  9. Happy Birthday! These are wonderful photos! I especially like the weeping tree.

  10. Carol T says:

    Love the trees, Helen. Very David Hockney!

  11. Happy birthday !!!!!
    I love your winter pictures !!

  12. Very Beautiful winter scenes.

  13. hellenjc says:

    Thank you Ziggy.. and you are right it does look like that.. or a ballet dancer in a wind tunnel…dress all blowing behind her … tee hee 😉

  14. Happy happy birthday 🙂
    Love the photo’s. The third one looks like a stick man bending at the knee, arms raised ready to take off into the winter sky. Or maybe it’s just a tree 😉

  15. scillagrace says:

    Snowy photo hiking AND theater?! Sounds like an absolutely perfect day to me! Love the lines and layers in your tree shots especially.

  16. Lisa says:

    what a lovely treat, really enjoyed looking through the great images, glad you had a wonderful birthday x

Leave a Reply

