and the winner is….. me apparently!!

Saturday 1479 – 24th March 2012

Another week has raced past and here we are at a Saturday again ! Where is the time going?

Today I spent the morning at a great photographic exhibition put on by the St Neots & District Camera Club and I was there because I’d entered half a dozen photos in a competition being run by a local Newspaper the “Huntingdon and St Ives News and Crier” , in conjunction with the club.

I’d had an email to ask if I could attend because I had been placed in the competition but it didn’t say where.. with this photo below, which some of you will have seen on my other blog Photomania 

.

When I got there I was told I had won. A very nice surprise 🙂  I was chuffed to bits ( for all my cosmopolitan followers that’s a very English expression that means absolutely delighted !) and yesterday I had an email from IGPOTY  which thrilled me even more… If you don’t know about the International Garden Photographer of the Year take a look at the awesome standard here

No not to say that I had been placed!! that would have been crazy and the competition was over ages ago.. This email was feedback. If you enter you can ask for feedback which is really useful.

This was my second feedback email from them.  I had entered one of the  Four Seasons competitions that ran during the year before the final competition closing date. I entered the new mornings competition and the feedback was brilliant.. In my lack of skill I had made some glaring errors with my rather poor entries but learnt from them and later last year I entered a few photos in a couple of different main categories. Both of the photos below were taken with my old Fuji Finepix

1st Misty Ducks in the Wildlife Havens category

This is a bit from the feedback email about the ducks

“Your misty ducks were shortlisted and got through a long way in the competition; in fact one judge was very keen on them indeed. Unfortunately for you there was another similar, slightly more successful shot that got a highly commended award – have a look on the website”

Your Just Grass was also shortlisted  ( some of you will have seen this on Photomania. and I’ve posted it again below )

The email went on to say 

“So you have some very good entries – note that the successful ones have been ones where there is more of ‘you’ in them. The more mundane shots – tulips that could have been photographed by anyone – were less successful. Go after your own vision and your own viewpoint – that may be abstract it may be just about colour – but follow your own path and we are sure you will do very well.”

That’s such good advice isn’t it. I feel so encouraged. We all like to get positive feedback don’t we?

.

So I’d like to say thank you to my daughter Katy and son Steven for persuading me to spend money on myself and buy a good camera. I’m enjoying my photographic journey immensely so why was I so resistant to doing what has so obviously been very good for me…. actually I seem often to be resistant to doing what’s good for me or would help me!!

So now I’ve made plans to do some work with another photographer and learn how to do this darn thing properly!

Do you have things that you resist doing even though you know they would be good for you if you did them? 

or things that you know you would really enjoy doing if you just got started or believed in yourself a bit more ?

I’d love to hear about them.

Bye from the Saturday Girl until next week

.

There’s a reminder of what this blog is about here

.

You can see lots of photos on my other blog Helen’s Photomania here

.

43 comments on “and the winner is….. me apparently!!

  1. […] you follow my other blog 1500 Saturdays you’ll know that I mentioned I’d had some good feedback from my entries for last years […]

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Helen, the three pictures here are excellent. I very much like the frosted gumboot, and the ducks in misty silhouette are simply wonderful.

    But my favourite is the green grasses – that is a Minimalist shot of great and profound beauty – absolutely wonderful – and I’m very jealous of it!

    Never forget to keep on keeping on! Adrian

  3. Adrian Lewis says:

    Helen – I love the photos you had in the photographic competition – I’m subscribing to your blog – and also sending you an email. Adrian

  4. Carol T says:

    Stunning photographs, Helen – I’m so impressed. Looking forward to a photoshoot with Poppy.

  5. 1500Sats: your photography is amazing; in particular, I like your photo of the wellington boot. Superb work! RT

  6. Tilly Bud says:

    What great advice – and a kind tone, which means so much.

    Well done on your win! Can I say I’m not surprised? 🙂

  7. Jacqueline says:

    Congratulations! That’s so great, and yes, it’s always nice to feel acknowledged for our work, especially when our heart is in it. And as they said, “…follow your own path and we are sure you will do very well.” I completely agree! 🙂

  8. Your photo of the ducks makes me glad I can still see enough to appreciate it. Nicely done!

  9. ~mimo~ says:

    well done! a big congratulations 🙂 well deserved!

  10. mary says:

    well done my friend
    so more of youself and your a STAR

  11. fiztrainer says:

    Congratulations on your award … a well-deserved award.

  12. Congratulations! The duck pic is stunning. 🙂

  13. Marleen says:

    That’s brilliant news Helen. The wellieboot is absolutely faboulous! The frost and the soft tones and the bit of bright colour. A still life. Also love the dark, misty ducks. Could be a shot from a horror movie. A bit sinister but at the same time also quiet and sleepy….

    It ‘s nice to have your visions appreciated, isn’t it. And they are very good to give you their feed back. At least now you know what they are looking for.

    I wish you years of pleasure with your photography and I really like looking at the pictures.

  14. ceciliag says:

    how fantastic, that is really really awesome and i also was impressed with your feed back and that they took the time to give it to you, your work is gorgeous.. c

  15. drawandshoot says:

    Well done Helen, congratulations! 🙂

    • hellenjc says:

      Thanks Karen.. we all have to start somewhere 😉 Now if I could just get this camera to do more of what I want it to do !! ( or rather if I could just get my head round what I should be doing ! )

  16. Britta-Karin Engberg says:

    Congratulations!

  17. Ashley Hill says:

    Fantastic pictures Helen, you’re a natural, keep it up

  18. Mark Goodwin says:

    Congrats Helen…nothing better than having people say your work is good enough to make you their winner. Doesn’t matter if it’s a local rag on a National Mag, in the end ‘People’ voted for you!
    I’m very pleased for you. And, next year….IGPOTY

  19. scillagrace says:

    Congratulations! I do absolutely love that photo of the boot; it looks like it could be a painting from a favorite children’s book. It has that magical quality to it. Steve says it looks like candy. 🙂 I like that admonition to “go after your own vision and your own viewpoint”. Something to think about!!

  20. Congratulations on winning. And yes, what fab feedback. It makes not winning a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

