Still no justice

Saturday 1476 – 14th April 2012

One of the things I did today was watch the Liverpool versus Everton FA cup semi-final with my son Steven. We are both Liverpool fans and I’m happy to report that Liverpool won 2-1 in what was a very exciting game!

I’m not from Liverpool and have no connections with the city but started watching the team when my then young son decided this was the team he liked. It was more of a bonding thing for me; watching the matches with my son.

Before today’s match started there was a minute’s silence in memory of the 96 fans who died as a result of the Hillsborough disaster on 15th April 1989.  Less than 2 months after the disaster Liverpool and Everton met in the FA cup final.

“The Hillsborough disaster was a human crush which occurred during the semi-final FA Cup tie between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest football clubs on 15 April 1989 at the Hillsborough Stadium in Sheffield, England. The crush resulted in the deaths of 96 people, with a total of 766 other persons being injured. All of them were fans of Liverpool Football Club.”  ( from Wikipedia)

My son was only 4 when this semi final was played and I wasn’t regularly watching football at that time but would have watched the big games, of which this was one.

So I was watching the match live on TV and the images from Hillsborough of fans being crushed to death in pens will remain etched in my memory for ever and I have followed the families fight for justice for their loved ones ever since. As many of you will know injustice always drives me crazy and what happened after the tragedy was unjust in the extreme. The football fans were blamed when it was clearly the lack of police control that was responsible. The decisions they took that day, or lack of them, were deadly.

I’m not going to go into any more detail about what happened but if you are interested you can read about it

  • on the Hillsborough Family Support group  website here  -clicking on the April 15th 1989 link where you will find a factual chronology
  • on Wikipedia here
  • on Liverpool Football Club’s website here where you can see a documentary under video tab

Last year I wrote this poem as my own tribute to those who lost their lives; many of whom were teenagers or in their 20’s

Still no Justice

Millions sat transfixed
their bodies angle-poised
before a screen
trying to shed light
on what was happening.
 
Mum, they’ll be alright won’t they?
Oh course they will son,
it’s only a game.
 
Silently they watched.
Eventually many mouths opened,
screaming at those screens.
 
They can’t move back!
Open the gates!
 
They might as well have been mute.
Voices unheard where it mattered most.
 
A crushed mass of red and denim blue.
Faces crisscrossed with wire lines
digging deep into their cheeks.
Many mouths opened
but no sound escaped
from airless lungs.
 
96 died.
Innocently penned in
fighting for life,
not fighting.
 
Sons, fathers, brothers.
Daughters, wives, sisters.
All lovers
of The Beautiful Game.
 
 

 

Saturday girl signing off.  I hope you all have a good week.

P.s – I know it’s unusual that there are no photos today but you can see lots on my other blog Helen’s Photomania here

.

8 comments on “Still no justice

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    A heartfelt poem. I’m from Liverpool but grew up an Everton fan. I had to convert to Man City on marriage.

    We watched the disaster unfold on tv in South Africa. It really was millions who saw it happen. Such a tragedy.

    Did you ever see the drama about it, starring Christopher Ecclestone? Excellent.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Convert to Man City !!! shame on you, Tilly ! I did indeed see the Drama.. it was very moving. I’m a big fan of Christopher Eccelestone generally and the screenplay was written by Jimmy McGovern who is brilliant.

  2. echwaluphotography says:

    So you are a Liverpool fan. I bet we have to draw lines right away coz i am a Manchester United fan. The two don’t look eye to eye! Now that Liverpool is in the final, poised for a second trophy this season, my prayers for you..On condition that Man United takes the Premier League.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      I might have known ! Thanks for the good wishes for Liverpool despite your misplaced allegiance to Man U, Edward !! I think it highly likely that Man U will win the league…certainly Liverpool are no threat to them !!

  3. ~mimo~ says:

    That’s a lovely well written tribute! Thanks for sharing

  4. scillagrace says:

    Thank you for sharing your deep emotions with us so beautifully. I can understand how that event stays with you. And I also understand bonding with your son over sports! These days it’s me and Steve and Chicago Bulls basketball.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Thank you Scilla.. I know this post isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but I wanted to get it out there… the survivors and families have been treated so badly over the years..

Leave a Reply

