Manna in Heaven

Saturday 1467 – 16th June 2012.

Last weeks 1500 Saturdays post “I thought My Heart Would Break” was very grim.. if you haven’t seen it already you can read it here but I warn you that it is pretty upsetting. This week’s post has an entirely different tone because I’m in Italy.. Whey Hey !! 

I’ve come on holiday to Sorrento with a group called Traveleyes, though if you follow my Photomania blog you’ll already know that but bear with me as I explain a little.

Traveleyes is a travel company that provides holidays for visually impaired and sighted people to travel together as equals and was started by a man called Amar Latif who is himself blind.  He’s a pretty inspirational character and you can read about him here and about Traveleyes here

The VI’s pay more than the sighted travellers because the sighted people act as the eyes of the VI’s during the holiday. This is my second trip with the company and will definitely not be my last. I can strongly recommend the company.

I’ve been in Sorrento since Tuesday and it’s an incredibly interesting and beautiful area. So far we’ve visited Pompeii and Positano with Herculanium and Capri coming up.

Today some of us had a cookery lesson, helping to prepare a typical 4 course Italian meal and what fun (and mess !! ) that was.

Better still we got to eat what we had cooked.

Here’s the menu and below it a few photos of the prep and eating 🙂

  • Cheese wrapped in fried aubergine slices with fresh tomato sauce
  • Potato gnocchi in garlic,tomato and Mozzarella sauce
  • Pork Brachiola which were parcels of pork fillet stuffed with parsley, pine nuts, raisins, garlic and parmesan cheese
  • Tiramasu

It was absolutely delicious with wine and prosecco ( okay it was only me who had the prosecco !! ) and all agreed we’d had great fun..

.

Flattening the meat

.

Ricing the potatoes

.

Flouring and egging veg

.

Cleaning the mascapone and cream bowl 🙂

.

The serving of the Tiramasu.. being watched eagerly!

.

The HIlarious Terry, who I was guiding today, getting stuck into the meal.

.

Saturday girl signing off .. see you next week.

 I also have a daily photography blog called Helen’s Photomania which you can find here I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already.

11 comments on “Manna in Heaven

  1. […] have travelled with me to Venice, Sorrento, Ireland, Cumbria and Scotland. ( Gosh that many places ! […]

  2. Sounds as though you had a wonderful time Helen. Good for Traveleyes for providing this holiday and enabling VIs to have such a hands on experience!

  3. totsymae1011 says:

    I really love this concept Mr Latif started. And you’re doing a great service while getting to see other parts fo the world. Having worked with children who were visually impaired, I know how stimulating this trip is.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      It was so much fun Totsy that was the main thing… and I learnt so much from those with visual impairment.. they put their trust in complete strangers.. I’m not sure I could do that

  4. Mark Goodwin says:

    Excellent post Helen, and what a great job you are doing whilst you are taking your holiday. Well done to you.
    Hope you have a really fantastic time.

  5. Looks like a lot of fun. I would love to visit Pompeii and Herculanium.

  6. scillagrace says:

    Oh, Helen, it sounds absolutely delicious! And what a rewarding way to travel! Meraviglioso!

Leave a Reply

