Kindness to Cats.

Saturday 1458 – 18th August 2012.

Last week I talked about the great time I had at the One Love music festival in Kent. If you missed it you can read about it here

I was going to write about Pussy Riot and Julian Assange but decided against it because I want to stay in a more positive frame of mind so instead I’m going to talk about a lovely organisation that helps cats.  A bit different from politics I’m sure you’ll agree!

I had meant to write about this a couple of weeks ago but then guns and festivals got in the way.

My daughter had 2 cats until a while ago when one young one Ella got killed on the road, she lives in a cul-de-sac but somehow he got out to the main road, and the other Alfie just disappeared. She had taken him in from some friends who had similar problems with him disappearing and returning but this time he didn’t come back for months.

Katy was naturally heartbroken.

Her disappearing cat did make an appearance just before she got her new cats  and she kept him in the house for a while but it was obvious he wasn’t happy there anymore. She said he looked very well fed and in good condition so with a heavy heart she let him out again but at least he was still alive.

Eventually she felt she was ready to have cats again and made enquiries to the Blue Cross. I’m not going to go into great detail about them but if you click on the name above it will bring you to the website.

What I can tell you is that they are a wonderful organisation who take in unwanted cats, some with behavioural problems and cats that can no longer be looked after for example because their elderly owner has had to go into a nursing or residential home or has died.  They do take some rabbits to and other animals at other centres.

They are a very caring and responsible organisation and don’t just give out cats willy nilly..they have to feel reassured that a potential new owner and cat/s are a good match. You can read about the “adoption” process here  

Rightly the animals are not free but they do come with a full MOT, so to speak..which includes all this –

vaccinated, microchipped wormed and neutered

examined by a vet and treated as required

assessed by an experienced member of our team to determine what type of training and education they need

given an individual training plan depending on their needs

given an individual profile to help match them with their new owner

 Look at this delightful,tiny kitten.. in the second photo he had seen my bag leaning against the wall and was trying to get to it..

….

 But this one was my favourite.. Just look at those eyes! If I had been looking for a cat for me I think this is the one I’d have chosen

All good stuff and my daughter decided on a pair of cats called Bobby and Charlie, who are brothers and about 18 months old. She had reserved them and we were going to pick them up.

The staff were so lovely to us and gave my daughter lots of instructions and all the things Bobby and Charlie had been used to; their own blankets toys etc and into the 2 cat carriers they went, which we had bought with us.. They were unbelievably quiet all the way back to Katy’s house.

As many of you cat lovers will know when you first get a cat or cats you have to keep them inside for a few weeks so Katy had prepared the spare room for them and just as soon as they came out of their cat carriers it was straight for the food  and then off to explore.

..

.

After exploring there can only be rest.

.

They are well settled in now and are going to be much-loved

I hope you enjoyed the cat saga and if you want to get a new pet think about getting one from Blue Cross or one of the other pet charities.. Wouldn’t that be a lovely thing to do?

Saturday girl signing off til next week

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already.

26 comments on “Kindness to Cats.

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    You’re talking to a confirmed cat lover here, Helen, although we don’t have one. Good post! Adrian

  2. Rachael says:

    Nice of your daughter to take these two on. I hope all goes well. I am not a cat fan but if I were, I would go to Blue Cross too.

  3. starlaschat says:

    great idea for a blog I will think of Saturday in a new way now. :+) I enjoyed reading your post about cats. We have two brothers they are almost thirteen years old they have been a huge joy to us over the years. It’s embarassing how many photos I have taken of them over the years. All I can say is I’m so thankful for digital I wouldn’t want to have to pay for all the film. :+) Loved your photos by the way.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Thank you Starlas and welcome to my blog.. I hope you’ll stop by again 😀 .. My daughter is delighted with her cats and they are really settled.. I have abeutifully black and white cat myself and she too is a delight..

      • starlaschat says:

        Thank You for the Welcome I just realized it’s Saturday :+) I’ll have to pop over and see what adventure or topic you are on today. I do a thing on Thursdays so I know how my Thursdays fly by I’m sure it is the same with your Saturdays.

  4. ~mimo~ says:

    They are beautiful, I am sure they will find a great life in their new home 🙂

  5. scillagrace says:

    I am definitely a “cat personality” and have missed having my daughter’s cat living with me. But I do hope I will be in a place where I can have an outdoor cat(s) again. I learn so much from them.

  6. They are so beautiful. I love cats, but after three that we have had in this house were hit by cars, we decided not to have another.

  7. TBM says:

    It breaks my heart that there are so many animals without loving homes. I adopted a stray cat years ago and he’s been a wonderful addition to our home. Enjoy your new family members. I wish I could adopt more. Maybe in the future.

  8. i’d love to have a cat…but my alsation would never leave it in one piece….! actually i did have a kinda homey cat…it was a stray and we kept feeding it in the garden…eventually it got the message…and started turning up every morning and evening for food! but soon as i brought home my alsation puppy, he was after it…no matter how much we stopped him…in the end, the cat went away…never to be seen again….:(

  9. Good news for all concerned. Best to Katy and the boys.

  10. totsymae1011 says:

    This is nice to see. I’m don’t say I’m an animal person but I certainly like to see when they are loved and care for. In Saudi, the cats are begging for fod and water. It’s so sad to see it.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Oh how very sad to hear that Totsymae..

    • hmm…very sad indeed! but there are many places in the world where animals take 2nd place…i know india and africa are 2 of them…dogs and cats get beaten and stoned….saudi may be the 3rd…i just recall what an old english gentleman said to me when my puppy was little…”all we can do is feed em and love em…nothing else we can do…and then they leave us…”. those words ring true…but perhaps not in every country…;)

      • totsymae1011 says:

        Well, over in Taiwan, the dogs I saw were in pretty bad shape too. Some hopping around on three legs. They just looked so ill. People did feed them but I kept thinking, ‘Where’s the freakin’ vet?’

      • yes, totally cruel. when i was in india early this year, i saw so many cases of cruelty, not only to dogs and cats, but donkeys, bulls etc. notice i didnt mention cows! i cant work out what the difference between a sacred cow and a bull could be??? both are anilmals..but the cow gets best treatment as its sacred…all other animals get decimated! where’s the humanity in that, i ask? and dogs…well, as you probably saw in taiwan, dogs in india are the lowest of the low…they get stoned, run over by vehicles, all the bad things you can think of…! after arriving back home from my trip, i honestly couldnt get those poor dogs out of my mind….comparing the life of my dog at home with those over there…no comparison at all…

      • totsymae1011 says:

        Exactly, seeing that leaves a deeply disturbing impression. The only time I’ve owned a pet is my son “acquiring” them but I’d never have the heart to put them out to be strays even.

        I don’t get what sacred about cows either and didn’t know they were until now. Strange. Very strange.

      • hehe…well, in india, the hindu religion decrees that the cow is to be worshipped and is sacred…because it gives humans milk as well as to its own young. but that could be said about goats or yaks…humans can drink their milk too…so does that make them sacred as well??! rather strange…yes! each to his own, i suppose…

Leave a Reply

