The stupendous Angel of the North

Saturday 1455 – 8th Sept 2012.

Hello all. What a day I’ve had today.. I travelled back from Scotland today and decided to take the long way round via the engineering miracle the Falkirk Wheel, mystical Lindisfarne and the magnificent Angel of the North. A VERY long day and I am spoilt for choice when it comes to what to write about on 1500 Saturdays.  I may have to cheat and make this work across a couple of Saturdays and certainly there will be lots of photos on Photomania 🙂

So I had to decide which of these 3 awesome sights I would share with you and I have decided on the brilliant sculptor Antony Gormley’s controversial statue Angel of the North which can be seen from both the A1 road, on which I travelled, and on the Edinburgh to London rail line.

I planned my journey home to coincide with the start of sunset at the Angel and was lucky enough to have brilliant light. Each photo is taken with different settings and in ever-changing light..

You can read about the background here  and some amazing facts about the Angel of the North here  which include the following :

 Its 54 metre (175 foot) wingspan is bigger than a Boeing 757 or 767 jet and almost the same as a Jumbo jet                   

  It is 20 metres (65 feet) high – the height of a five storey building or four double-decker buses                   

  It weighs 200 tonnes – the body 100 tonnes and the wings 50 tonnes each

It is one of the most viewed pieces of art in the world – seen by more than one person every second, 90,000 every day or 33 million every year

There was initially a lot of controversy ( mostly whipped up by the red top newspapers – surprise! surprise!) because of what it cost ,with most of the funding coming from the National Lottery, but it has now become a much-loved landmark.

I thought it was exceptionally beautiful and what sets human beings apart from most other animals ( as far as we know) is our love of Art and Beauty. We need it..

This is much photographed so impossible to get anything really different but here are my offerings 😀

.

.

I hope you have enjoyed a look at this truly magnificent piece of art

You can find my photography blog Photomania here I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already and I make no apology for publishing another couple of shots from there on Monday 10th Sept.

.

17 comments on “The stupendous Angel of the North

  1. […] have shared my deep love of the environment, poetry , books,  sculpture,  art  ( warning on that one) and most of all photography; there have been well over 400 […]

  2. Nandini says:

    Great shots of a very interesting subject.

    Fourth photo is my favorite! 🙂

  3. ~mimo~ says:

    marvelous art! Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Incredible! Great sculpture and you captured it beautifully.

    Though, having never seen it before, this comment made me feel like I live with my head in the sand:

    It is one of the most viewed pieces of art in the world – seen by more than one person every second, 90,000 every day or 33 million every year.

  5. Rachael says:

    Ah. Super! We drove past here on our way to Northumberland but didn’t stop! I blame the other people in our car. 😉

  6. ellyhuizinga says:

    Nice pictures and I love the work of Gromley. Not far from my home town is also a statue of Gromley .He often takes his own body as a model. I will take some pictures of this statue , when the weather is good . Bye Helen

  7. Marleen says:

    You are an amazing font of information dear Helen. I hope you had a lovely trip. And the pics, as usual are really something!

  8. Nice trip, did you take any pictures in Lindisfarne?

  9. […] On 1500 Saturdays, my other blog, I have posted about the brilliant and massive sculpture called The Angel of the North, with photos, and you can read about it here […]

  10. scillagrace says:

    Not sure it enhances the landscape because I’ve never seen it in its environ. It’s humongous. And man-made. Is this an improvement? I like the angles that you used to photograph it, though! The Angles of the North?

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Scilla it sits in a sort of triangle of parkland ( which has playing fields) with dual carriageway roads making up 2 sides of the triangle and on the third side housing I think but further away beyond the playing fields area. To me it definitely improves this particular landscape..

Leave a Reply

