Tennis’s Number 1 player

Saturday 1446 – 10th November 2012.

(Oops I had forgotten to change the title before I published this so those of you who get this by email will see the wrong title! I’ve changed it now as you can see)

Last week I shared with you something which had given me a great deal of pain and will always stay with me.. if you missed that post you can read it here – How did Humanity get so Lost

It was never my intention to write a blog that was full of as much angst as this one has been at times, but these are my thoughts and indeed my life that I have been laying before you.

This week I am going to give you some relief from that angst and write about something that gave me great joy. Well actually I am not going to write very much at all but rather I am going to show you instead. Yesterday ( Friday so I know that’s cheating a bit but what the hell! ) I brought my beloved son Steven to the O2 arena in London ( used to be called the Millenium Dome) to an afternoon session of the end of season ATP tennis World Tour Finals. I have been to the Wimbledon tennis championships and it’s steeped in tradition. This was quite different.. full of razzamatazz, colour ( I’ll show you a bit of that too) and music between games !! very loud at that !.. a bit over the top for my taste but I still enjoyed the whole spectacle very much and people were having fun. The men below were actually advertising Rio De Janeiro where the next Olympics will be.

We were lucky enough to see the World No 1 player, Novak Djokovic play the World No 6 Tomas Berdych.

Berdych coming out to face the master Djokovic with a little girl as mascot. I’m sure these players must get used to always having a camera in their face !

Djokovic was absolutely magnificent and I pretty much concentrated on taking photos of him; though you know me I took lots of photos of other stuff too and will show you some on Photomania sometime 😉

 

Look above at how high he throws the ball as he serves, how high he jumps and the speed of his racquet as he hits the ball. Awesome and he was so fast around the court too .

It was exciting to watch someone at the top of his game and enjoying himself so much.  The 2 photos below were my favourites from the event… in the first he is doing some hamstring stretches and.. well the second is one for those who appreciate the male form 😉

.

Ho hum 😉

Here’s the winning moment for Djokovic

Why do so many  make a fist when they win ??

Answers below please if you have a reason.

.

As I write this it is Remembrance Sunday when people remember those men and women who have died fighting in the armed forces around the world. The greatest tribute we can make to them is to say NO to more war by encouraging our governments to use diplomatic means to solve world problems and to stop lying to us about what the real threat is;  the industrial war machine which makes huge profits out of making and selling arms while others die..

.

Saturday Girl signing off ’til next week. Have a healthy and peaceful one.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already.

.

7 comments on “Tennis’s Number 1 player

  1. […] The photo I gave you yesterday was taken outside the O2 Arena in London ( it used to be the Millenium Dome) when I was there with my son at the tennis which I wrote about here […]

  2. scillagrace says:

    What fun to share a sport with your son! My husband Jim played competitive tennis but gave up the game altogether after open heart surgery when he was 31…he said that he could feel the wire around his sternum scraping. Physical health is definitely something to celebrate, I think. I’ll openly admire any more shots of the fit male physique you care to post! 😉

    • Helen Cherry says:

      I used to play tennis 2-3 times a week with my son when we lived in Ireland some years ago.. but my foot surgery 4 years ago has put paid to that as I cannot run now.. pity but you get used to it as I’m sure Jim did.
      Djokovic certainly was fit 😉

  3. cewarnes says:

    some really good action shots!

  4. Rachael says:

    Great series.dare I admit to particularly enjoying the penultimate shot? 😉

Leave a Reply

