My One TV Weakness

Saturday 1440 – 22nd December 2012

020_536 2

FUN! FUN! FUN!

I know that by now you’re all used to me being terribly serious but you’ll be delighted to know there is a lighter side to me. Phew what a relief I can hear you all say.!  To those of you who have just started following my blog ( and thank you)  this is a reminder that this blog was started so that I could write about what I was doing on the last 1500 Saturdays I might have left and this IS what I was doing on Saturday 1441 but don’t be concerned I’m sure I’ll be back to my serious self in due course!

strictly come dancingMany of you also know that I don’t have a TV. Those of you who don’t know are probably throwing your hands up in horror and saying What!! Is she mad !!  Well I am a bit mad, I won’t argue with that. 😉  

I find TV intrusive so I choose not to have it. I do have BBCi on my computer and occasionally watch something on there but I do have ONE TV weakness and that is Strictly Come Dancing ! 

I loooooove it! It’s a rare nod to Girlieness for me.  katy and lights

For those of you who have no idea what I am talking about, the show matches sportsmen, actors, TV presenters etc with professional dancers who teach them how to do Latin and Ballroom dances.  There are judges and the public get votes too.

Today was the final and I was invited over to lovely daughters to watch the final on her proper TV .. Actually I think I might have invited myself but whatever !  Ain’t she a lovely daughter ( that’s her to the right) .. even better my son, who lives at her house at the moment, made a delicious roast dinner but did not wait around after for the Strictly dancing. Why ever not !

me having a glass of prosecco and kirI don’t really do dressing up but I did put on a beaded top and velvet/silk skirt, with a bit of netting in the petticoat, to get into the spirit of the whole thing and  so Katy could take a couple of photos to prove I WAS having fun – you can see me kicking up my leg in the photo above ( well as close as I was going to get to it !! )  It’s important when you are a serious-concerned-for-the-world-and-its-people type and a Social Worker to boot to schedule in some fun time and that’s what I was doing.. A glass or 2 of Prosecco and Kir went down a treat.

I love Strictly because the dancers create wonderful routines, it’s exciting,athletic, musical and a huge amount of fun too which is all good in my book. This is no soft thing to do the “celebrities” have to work extremely hard to be any good.

Here’s a few terrible photos stolen from the telly of the last 3 pairings; just to give you an idea . They were all FAB U LOUS darling !

Denise van Outen..071_538

065_533

The very deserving winner ( though as they were all Brilliant it could have been anyone) was the Olympic gymnastics Silver medallist Louis Smith with his partner Flavia Cacace; voted for by the public. They were magnificent; powerful, elegant, fun.

louis Smith the winner

.

One of my daughter’s cats Charlie got in on the act too with a backward head roll. ha !

Charlie the cat

.

   Saturday Girl signing off now. Sending Seasons Greetings to you all.

May you find love and peace whatever your faith or if you have none.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here and I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already

22 comments on “My One TV Weakness

  1. ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you.

    Thanks. for visiting my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

  2. Kate Johnson says:

    Happy New Year to you!

  3. Alex Jones says:

    Been years since I had a television too, never missed it.

  4. Helen ~ I thought I’d say thanks for the interesting and entertaining blog posts. Happy New Year, lady.
    Lea

  5. Adrian Lewis says:

    Strictly Come Dancing?! As my safari clients used to say – “Gee, Helen, I think I’m gonna barf!”.

    But no TV – >>> well 101% good for you! I know 10 or so people now who do not have a TV and they’re all very friendly, articulate and outgoing types >>> way to go, Helen, way to go! Adrian

  6. scillagrace says:

    Absolutely fabulous!! Dancing in stockings on the couch with a glass of wine is so you, dear, as well as that Reformer/Savior I love so well. Thanks for sharing your smile!

  7. tunnelmental says:

    lovely post, happy Helen, love, live, life. appy olidays.

  8. Rachael says:

    We were glued to it too. So lovely to have it sandwiched around our other family TV weakness, Merlin.

  9. I have never doubted your sense of fun, it shines through even when you are serious. I love the thought of you kicking up your heels to “Strictly” with a glass of bubbly in hand.
    I have so enjoyed my first year of blogging and finding you along the way. Have a very Merry Christmas Helen and here’s to another year of serious frivolity x

  10. Here in the States we have dancing with the stars. Same concept professional dancers with famous folks and the public casts their votes. Well happy you had a good time.

Leave a Reply

