What do Cuban’s think of Presidents?

Saturday 1421 – 4 May 2013

DSC_0008

 

I’m in Cuba… YAY!!!!  IT’s a place I’ve long wanted to visit before it changes too much.

I’ve come here with a group called Traveleyes and if you’ve been following my blog for a while you’ll know a bit about the organisation because I wrote about my trip to Sorrento with them last year.

For those of you who are new to my blog Traveleyes is a travel company that provides holidays for Visually Impaired and sighted people to travel together. It was started by a man called Amar Latif who is himself visually impaired. The VI’s pay more than the sighted people because the sighted people act as sighted guides during the holiday ; not a carer just a sighted guide.

Today I’m paired up with Dave and we negotiated how we wanted to spend this day in Havana which was a free day from the set itinerary. Yesterday we spent the day on a city tour here in Havana and that gave us some ideas about what we might like to do with this day. Traveleyes is all about co-operation and flexibility between the  sighted guide and the  visually impaired person; negotiating what you want to do with these free days so that you both get to do some of what you want with your day..

So today we visited the Museo de la Revolucion  or Revolution Museum which is just across the road from the hotel where we are staying. It was clearly symbolic putting this museum in the former Presidential palace of the much hated dictator Batista. I don’t have the time or the internet access to write about what a terrible tyrant he was, suffice to say that when he was in power the rich became very rich indeed and the poor, who were largely illiterate then, became very, very much poorer.

The mural you see at the top of the post is placed just inside the main entrance to the museum.. As soon as I saw it I determined that it would feature in this post.

No more words from me, just the pictures.. but do read the words and you will see how hated the American Presidents ( and America’s puppet Batista)  have been here in Cuba..

DSC_0007

.

DSC_0006

.

DSC_0005

.

DSC_0004

Catch up with you next week… though heaven knows when I might have internet access again… which is great !!!

You can find my photography blog Photomania here

.

11 comments on “What do Cuban’s think of Presidents?

  1. […] read my blog last week you’ll know I’ve been in Cuba. If you didn’t take a look here […]

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    Interesting that you use the term “eye-opener” Elena 😉

  3. girlseule says:

    That sounds like a really great way to travel. I went to Cuba. Couple of years ago, such an amazing place.

  4. This is wonderful. I so want to visit Cuba someday. My husband being from the Bahamas could do so, but I cannot. I have always though our embargo a great travesty. Perhaps someday this will change. I look forward to more of your travels.

  5. totsymae1011 says:

    I’d like to do something like this. I remember reading about them also. Those images are perfect but don’t you be over there laughing at our presidents, Cherry. It’s the fault of the people they become presidents.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Can’t argue with that totsymae though we all might consider how much it is the “fault” of the rich minority and corporations who “buy” the president or provide the funds to make it possible

  6. scillagrace says:

    So interesting! Caricature and irony and history…and I imagine you describing all this verbally to your travel companions. What great discussion starters!

  7. Wow, an eye opener. Great org. Enjoy Helen!

Leave a Reply

