A stroll round Strawberry Fair

Saturday 1417  – 1st June 2013

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

_975

_976._969

_983

The photos above are all parts of the entrances to the fair.

I have lived in Cambridgeshire for nearly 5 years but have never attended Strawberry Fair, the free music, entertainment, arts and crafts festival which takes place on Midsummer Common every year and has done since 1974.

_993It’s a family affair which starts with a parade around the town from 11-midday; when the parade arrives at back at Midsummer Common the Fair really gets going and goes on ‘tl late. There was a range of musical genres represented across several music stages though I didn’t stay until late.

One of the reasons I hadn’t been before is because a few years ago there were some problems with perceived “anti-social” behaviour concerning drug and alcohol misuse and the organisers decided to cancel the 2010 event. That is all behind us now and Strawberry fair came back with a vengeance as a very friendly and, still free, family event in 2011 and hasn’t looked back.

Some people on their way to the Festival

_990._989

_994I absolutely loved it !

Great atmosphere, great food – from vegan through Caribbean to hot dogs and great music.Unfortunately the usual changeable weather from cold and cloudy in the morning to warmish by late afternoon but NO rain!!

.

I especially enjoyed the Samba band Arco Iris who are a community band based in Cambridge and will do a Photomania post just about them later in the week.. In fact I enjoyed them so much it is my intention to join them ! 

_984

I loved the long legs of Park Arts Stilters too.

_988

Here are some of the stiltwalkers having a rest and a stretch. It’s tiring work!

_985

Lots of interesting stalls and food.

_972.

_987.

_981.

_974.

_980.

_973.

_979

.

and interesting looking people !

_986.

_971.

_978.

_991.

_995

I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos which are meant to give you a flavour of this rather unique event and long may it continue .  (more on Photomania)

A big shout out to all the organisers (crew member above) and the hundreds of volunteers who made it all possible. WELL DONE !!  

A link to Strawberry Fair website http://www.strawberry-fair.org.uk/

and Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/?ref=tn_tnmn#!/StrawberryFair?fref=ts 

If there’s a festival like this near you I hope you’ll go and enjoy yourself. 

You can see what I wrote and photographed during the last one I went to “One Love” here

I am anticipating another real treat for myself next Saturday.. Come back and see what it was 🙂

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here and there will be lots more photos from the festival over there this week.

.