Raging Against Apathy.

Saturday 1402  – 14.09.2013.

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

In a time of Universal deceit telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.

.

 Several times on this blog I have written about Chelsea ( legally still Bradley) Manning and I make no apology for another short post about her now.

You can see my other posts by clicking on the following post titles –

1000 Days Without Trial – America’s Shame.  and  My 100th post – Maybe the end?

In my 100th post I wrote about the White House Petition which had been started by Amnesty International and  PardonBradletmanning.org to ask for clemency for Manning. It had been started on 20th August and I had been expecting that it would very quickly reach the 100,000 signatures apparently needed to elicit a statement from Obama himself but to my surprise this is not the case and at time of writing only 24,373 had signed

Here’s what  the petition says –

“we petition the Obama administration to:

Restore the United States’ human rights record and grant clemency to Pvt. Bradley Manning!

The prosecution of Bradley Manning starkly contrasts to the US govt’s repeated failure to deliver justice for serious human rights violations committed during counter-terror operations of the past decade.

Manning, who released classified information exposing potential breaches of international humanitarian law by US forces, was sentenced in military court on Aug 21st to 35 yrs in prison.

Manning’s severe sentence contrasts with the leniency given those responsible for torture and other types of grave human rights violations he revealed.

To reduce this blight on the US human rights record, President Obama should grant Manning clemency for time served, protect whistleblowers, and provide accountability for crimes like those Manning exposed.

AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL

PARDON.BRADLEYMANNING.ORG

Here is a link to the petition again and it needs to be signed by the 20th Sept so very little time 😦

 https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/restore-united-states%E2%80%99-human-rights-record-and-grant-clemency-pvt-bradley-manning/L7zHZv4r 

.

Martin LUIther KIng - OUr lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. I was shocked and dismayed to find so few people had signed the petition and couldn’t quite fathom why. I had thought that the American public would be happy to show support for Manning who after all has given up her freedom for the truth.

The reasons I have seen for not signing have been –

“Petitions don’t make any difference”

“Um, Obama is the criminal. Fuck petitioning the criminals.”

“Chelsea deserves freedom but a White House A/C…?’  I don’t think so…that’s the shit she’s sitting in prison over….”

“Sorry. I do not wish to create a White House Account to sign in.”

Very depressing that people would not give up a little of themselves. The whitehouse account just requires a name and email address. That’s all and if the US government want that they can get it in about 5 mins from a number of sources.. the paranoia is frankly ridiculous !

be this guyA reminder of what Manning has said in her letter to Obama asking for clemency.

If you deny my request for a pardon, I will serve my time knowing that sometimes you have to pay a heavy price to live in a free society. I will gladly pay that price if it means we could have a country that is truly conceived in liberty and dedicated to the proposition that all women and men are created equal.”

To counter my disapointment at lack of support for the White House petition I have done some research to make myself a little saner; as you know injustice drives me CRAZY!

Here are positve things being done to continue to highlight Mannings case and you can help too.. Why not write to Chelsea offering your support? I have. The address can be found here

http://www.bradleymanning.org/take-action

or below where you will see that 4,210 have volunteered to serve part of Mannings sentence for her.

http://www.credomobilize.com/petitions/how-much-time-would-you-serve-for-bradley-manning

My faith in Human nature is a little restored 🙂

If you are interested in learning more, below are some links where you can read about what the world now knows because Chelsea Manning sacrificed her freedom. If you read them you might better understand why the American Government wants to make an example of  and punish her.

http://www.bradleymanning.org/learn-more/what-did-wikileaks-reveal 

http://www.worldcantwait.net/index.php/wikileaks/8351-because-of-bradley-manning?key=0 

and the collateral Murder videos.

http://www.collateralmurder.com/

———–

 As ever I welcome your thoughts.

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

4 comments on “Raging Against Apathy.

  1. I like you find the disinterest dismaying. I signed the petition (in my real name).

  2. silence is seen as consent by the powers that be. raise your voices loud and clear if you value freedom, peace and liberty.

Leave a Reply

