100 Saturdays have gone – 1400 to go !

 kiva_121x64

Saturday 1400  – 29.09.2013.

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

Oh Lordie !!!!!

It’s been a funny old day today. A bit of a roller coaster, not particularly helped by the realisation that 100 of my last Saturdays are now gone, never to be seen again.. 😦

The day started with me inexplicably feeling down in the dumps and rather sorry for myself. I was out cycling ans was feeling lonely,  those of you who live on your own probably recognise that this happens from time to time,  and nothing just felt quite right.

Job is dragging me down, decorating long, long overdue, curtains need hanging, I had emails to answer, letters to write, paperwork to sort out, unpacking to finish, photo competitions to edit photos for, gardening to do; to say nothing of housework and laundry!

The disadvantage of living on your own is that you HAVE to do everything and I don’t always feel like it. Do any of you singletons out there recognise this?

Of course there is the upside that you can always do what you want when you want to, well once you’ve done all those things!  The upshot is that I tend to procrastinate and spend WAY too much time on this damn computer and internet reading interesting stuff but not doing stuff. Recognise this too??

I’m not really hard done by. I live a pretty good life but it’s a singleton’s life and for someone who likes to share experiences, as well as the chores!, that doesn’t really suit me, but I am where I am and have to get on with it.. Now I suspect there are some of my readers, who are not in very satisfactory relationships, who will say that coupledom is not all it’s cracked up to be and indeed I know that to be the case. 

My day continued with an evening visit from a friend, we walked a bit, ate a bit, chatted a bit and laughed a bit.  It was all good 🙂

Sadly the day ended with news that a family member is having a hard time and I send my love and support to that person, they know who they are.

The upshot of my thinking is that happiness comes from within yourself, not from external factors, and we can only ever really depend on ourselves . I was reminded of this quote by Brian L Weiss  –

“Happiness comes from within. It is not dependent on external things or on other people. You become vulnerable and can be easily hurt when your feelings of security and happiness depend on the behavior and actions of other people. Never give your power to anyone else.” 

What always makes me feel better is helping people who are in a less fortunate position than myself because it makes me more appreciative of my good fortune to be born in a country where I have comparative freedom and some security, or at least I feel I do but that may be an illusion! I was reminded of this when I read this post http://elenacaravela.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/cards-for-kiva/  by my dear blogging friend Elena Caravela. I can commend her blog with its wonderful paintings. She’s VERY talented and lovely with it. 

Kiva is a wonderful organisation here’s a little quote from their website –

Margarita“We are a non-profit organization with a mission to connect people through lending to alleviate poverty. Leveraging the internet and a worldwide network of microfinance institutions, Kiva lets individuals lend as little as $25 to help create opportunity around the world” and “Kiva works with microfinance institutions on five continents to provide loans to people without access to traditional banking systems. One hundred percent of your loan is sent to these microfinance institutions, which we call Field Partners, who administer the loans in the field.”

I have known about Kiva for some time but not acted on that knowledge but thanks to Elena’s reminder I have now become a Kiva lender. 

If you want to know more and I hope you will, take a look here http://www.kiva.org/about and here http://www.kiva.org/about/how 

Along with 51 other lenders my first loan has gone to Margarita who is pictured on this post.  She lives in Peru and this is her 4th loan, the other 3 being already repaid and she will use the money to buy a small parcel of land to expand her cocoa bean crop. You can read more about her here.  http://www.kiva.org/lend/610223  

What better way to use $25 dollars which is about £16 than to give someone a hand-up rather than a hand-out. It does my soul good and helps me as much as it helps her. 

kiva_121x64Of course in a just world this should not be necessary but I’m not going to hang around waiting for a just world to be created but rather be the change I want to see in the world.

Care to join me ?

—–

Oh, before I go  here’s a spamming tale. A few weeks ago I wrote about having some nasal surgery and in my spam folder today I found a comment which said “Hey Helen, how are you now? your story is so good and giving inspiration to others. Really you have passed a huge exam of your life. Thanks for sharing your story.” I thought Awwww that’s nice and was about to move it from the spam folder but then noticed the link which, yes you’ve guessed it,  was for a self-confessed “Rhinoplasty Master”  and advertising Septoplasty which is what I had done. Hmmmm it’s going into my junk folder !

Saturday girl signing off, see you very soon. maybe?

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

13 comments on “100 Saturdays have gone – 1400 to go !

  1. […] about Kiva back in September 2013 when I made my very first loan and you can read that post here 100 Saturdays have gone 1400 to go . I was lukewarm about it at first but a few months ago I became much more involved and rather […]

  2. I don’t expect to read anymore posts from you UNTIL YOUR CURTAINS ARE HUNG!!
    Honestly….Your poor neighbours!
    😉

  3. scillagrace says:

    Ah, Helen. Your honesty is refreshing. Yup, we are responsible for our happiness, for recognizing that we are creating in our thoughts and our actions the environment in which we live. You get to decide what you “have” to do; you are aware of the consequences and the moods that accompany those choices. And you know what to do to re-direct your energy. I think the KIVA thing is great; heard about it years ago at a conference. Maturity is maybe not all that dramatically thrilling, but it certainly can be peaceful and satisfying. There are thrilling things to observe all around, though. As a photographer, you sure know that, too!

  4. I hate to admit it, procrastination is my middle name (my office has needed a good scrub for weeks now). I love microfinance! I think, though I will have to research it, Texas and a few other states shut down our ability to participate.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Oh did they Valentine. Why on earth would they do that??

      • A few years back several states decided microfinance and ‘personal’ lending broke banking laws and blocked residence of those states from participating. I had been participating in another microfinance site at the time, making small loans. Though I was still allowed to be repaid, I could no longer reinvest those funds or make additional loans.

      • Helen Cherry says:

        Of course no profit for the big banks Valentine.. my heart absolutely sinks into my boots when I read this response.. 😦 Could you participate through a freiend in another country? I guess they couldn’t stop you doing that could they?

  5. Thanks Helen. for the nod to my blog and for spreading the word about KIVA:)

  6. totsymae1011 says:

    I tell you what, Cherry. My place needs decorating and I feel lonely ever so often, so you can call me up and arrange to come decorate my place with some of that fancy schmancy stuff from the UK. 🙂

Leave a Reply

