My Desire to Remain Sane…..

Saturday 1398  – 12.10.2013

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

.

my desire to be well informed is currently at odds with my desire to remain sane

.

My desire to remain sane at the moment has led me to do some very normal things today and to avoid any sort of news/facebook posts etc which might cause me angst.  

In short I have had my head buried firmly in the sand, for a good bit of the time this week actually, and on this Saturday I have been doing and thinking about VERY ordinary things rather than keeping myself informed of what’s going on in this world of war, disaster, politicking and greed.

Like what you ask? 

Like painting my bathroom for example and booking a holiday to coincide with my 60th birthday in February. How ridiculous that sounds to me, that I will be 60. When I was in my late teens/early 20s 60 seemed to be absolutely ancient and here I am fast approaching it.  ( and feeling a bit ancient some days !! )

 The holiday in question will be in a Trullo in the Puglia region of Italy with my 2 lovely grown-up children; something to look forward to in the dark days of winter and I suppose not SO very ordinary! 

How long will it be possible for me to bury my head in the sand ?… not too long I suspect.  So have a rest from my rantings and normal service will be resumed as soon as possible 🙂

What do you do when you feel the need to remove yourself from things that give you angst or drag down your mood?

———–

 As ever I welcome your thoughts.

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

17 comments on “My Desire to Remain Sane…..

  1. What do you do……………………?

    I lock the doors, draw the curtains, dim the lights, put on black satin pyjamas, turn the central heating up to 29 degrees, put my ‘Songs to slit your wrist by’ playlist on iPod auto repeat, (Leonard Cohen, Joy Division, Billie Holiday et al), and take myself to bed with a bottle of cheap Spanish brandy and half kilo of pork scratching’s, where I drink myself into crumb covered oblivion…

  2. CAROL TACQ says:

    You’ll love Puglia, Helen.  I went last year and have guide books I can pass on to you.  We didn’t stay in a trullo but I have friends who went on a similar trip who did.  You will love it.   x   PS Are you really going to be 60?!

    ________________________________

  3. LensScaper says:

    What do I do – grab the camera and go out – anywhere. Preferably up a mountain – so why did I end up living in Northants? I’m still trying to work that one out!

  4. bananabatman says:

    I often use the ‘head in sand’ approach to stress management Helen, though when I extract it, the angst is always still there.

  5. scillagrace says:

    Maybe one of the things to be well-informed about is finding a way to be sane: the awareness of your own ability to let go. Your well-being is important, Helen. I’m glad you’re taking good care of you!

  6. Adrian Lewis says:

    Avoiding things that bring me angst or drag me down is a very solid point in my new, retired lifestyle. Why? Well, in the time left to me – and who knows how long that will be – I’m concentrating on the things I consider worthwhile, and stoutly refusing to let events that I cannot do anything about get to me. This view is shared by friends too.

    Consider the alternative. I avidly keep myself informed of current events, and ineffectually rant and rave – and get brought down – by every new evil event – greed, violence, persecution, inequality – and on my death bed, am still ineffectually ranting etc, right up to “Goodbye, World”! Is that a worthwhile path to tread? I don’t think so. A

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Ah now Adrian.. I guess I used the wrong word when I used the word rant. I guess I write because I want to educate people and open their eyes, if they are not already open, but I also like to think I propose ways to make a positive difference in peoples lives too. Which is why I write about and support such organisations as Amnesty International, Plan, Kiva, Wateraid, Treeaid etc.. because I don’t want to be on my deathbed and saying I wish I’d done more to help make people’s lives better..

  7. ellyhuizinga says:

    I like to walk and walk and walk! Listen to music and read and paint! And look at the clouds ,the trees, nature can heal a lot. Good luck Helen.

  8. Pranav Lal says:

    My standard escape is books. The day before my dad’s second bypass surgery, I was reading Sherlock Holmes.

Leave a Reply

