Has slavery been abolished? ….. Sadly it seems it has not.

Saturday 1397  – 19.10.2013

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

.

As you may know Friday was Anti- Slavery day and someone sent me a link to a website called Slavery Foot Print where you can feed in your life style, where you live, what gadgets you have etc and it will tell you , based on these details, how many slaves you have working for you. I followed the link, filled in my details and it seems I have 22 slaves.. yes 22 !!  How utterly depressing I found that.

I’ll give a you a link to the website in a minute but before I do I have taken a few of the graphics from the site which I hope they won’t mind me using.

shirtYour Shirt

– likely contains cotton that was picked by children in Uzbekistan who are forced to trade their school days for days in the fields.

.

phoneYour Phone

– has capacitors that are made with Coltan. 64% of Coltan reserves are located in Congo where child laborers are  at work from sunrise to sunset.

.

coffee

Your Coffee

– Your Coffee may contain beans that were harvested and cultivated by slaves in Côte d’Ivoire

.

So there you have it, just a little glimpse into how the things that you buy might have been produced using slaves in another country. It’s pretty shocking to think that items you possess or consume have almost certainly been produced by the used of slavery of children or adults somewhere else in the world. isn’t it?

I try to be pretty aware and careful about this sort of thing and yet still my score came out at 22.

So, if you are interested, here’s the link, fill it in as fully as possible using the side bar that you will see on the left. It only takes a few minutes –  http://slaveryfootprint.org/survey/#where_do_you_live  

When you have found out how many slaves you have you might like to think about how you can help to make the world a Free from Slavery one.

First let’s look at a definition of slavery. This one below is taken from the Made in a Free World website

“Anyone who is forced to work without pay, being economically exploited, and who
is unable to walk away.
Note: Forced Labor, also known as involuntary servitude, may result when unscrupulous employers exploit workers made more vulnerable by high rates of unemployment, poverty, crime, discrimination, corruption, political conflict, or cultural acceptance of the practice.
Immigrants are particularly vulnerable, but individuals also may be forced into labor in their own countries. Female victims of forced or bonded labor, especially women and girls in domestic servitude, are often sexually exploited
as well. “

Strong stuff but it’s real and we ignore it at our peril.

You can find the website here http://madeinafreeworld.com/  I confess I do not find the website very user-friendly when it comes to signing up for email. There is a space in the middle of the page with 3 spaces I put in my name in the first 2 and then my email address in the third and that worked. 

Made in a Free World estimates that 27 million people are enslaved around the world… but let’s not allow that massive figure to disempower us.. As ever be the change you want to see in the world.. be aware and help where you can.

More important reading can be found here http://www.antislaveryday.com/ .

or

here http://www.theguardian.com/global-development-professionals-network/modern-day-slavery

———–

 As ever I welcome your thoughts.

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

4 comments on “Has slavery been abolished? ….. Sadly it seems it has not.

  1. mary says:

    well said fair trading is scarse 😦

  2. Terrible…my score was 65 though I suspect it might actually be higher since it said my home is what affected my score the most.

Leave a Reply

