A New Relationship? Yes but it’s Early Days !!

Andy Kneeling down in HInchingbrooke park taking photos

Saturday 1386  – 4.01.2014

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

.

I am tying this post in ( very loosely) with the Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginning  – Why?

Just because I feel like it 🙂

So here we are in another New Year and it seems amazing to me that it is so long since 2000 !

This New Year is a little different for me because it has been some years since I had a man in my life but this year I do and there is potential for 2014 to be a great year for us both.  It has certainly begun well ( about 10 weeks now! ) and we have covered a lot of ground in a short space of time.

_1535We share many of the same interests ( the photos show a major one ! ) but what is particularly exciting about this is that we have started from a point of complete honesty, with each other, and this coupled with a willingness to communicate in a very real, accepting, compassionate way is what bodes well for the future. 

When you get to my time of life ( nearly 60..gulp! ) and have 2 major relationships behind you, neither of which was noted for its good communication, then you don’t want to enter into a 3rd that follows the same pattern. Andy and I have both made mistakes in previous relationships and we are keen not to repeat these in ours.

This requires reflection on why communication was not good, recognising the patterns that reinforced poor communication and working towards a better way of being with another person in a genuine, open and adult way. It’s not easy and does require work but boy is it worth it !

I am thankful that Andy and I are doing this work together. He is undoubtedly helping me to be the best person I can be and I hope I am doing the same for him.

This all sounds terribly serious doesn’t it? but shouldn’t building a great relationship with someone be a serious business if you want it to succeed?  I think it should because if issues that arise  (and they always do it’s what happens when 2 ego’s meet ) are not dealt with then they accumulate, fester or build resentment and it’s these things that ultimately cause the collapse of a relationship; as does taking someone for granted.

Don’t get me wrong Andy and I spend a lot of our time laughing and having fun while we get to know each other.. You can be an adult and have a childlike joy too; they are not mutually exclusive.

So I am looking forward to 2014 and continuing to get to know this lovely man in a mindful way, building a true friendship and partnership of equals.

Maybe it soon won’t be “early days” any more.  😉

———–

 As ever I welcome your thoughts.

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

25 comments on “A New Relationship? Yes but it’s Early Days !!

  1. Hi Helen
    Sounds good……I can’t tell from the photos but I do hope he’s a Nikon man.

  2. What a wonderful start to the year, Helen! Such happy news. 🙂

    Sean and I are celebrating four years together this month, and, like you and Andy, have so much in common that it makes being friends and enjoying one another’s company very easy. Of course, with our 24/7 “life on the road” we have to be sure not to let anything fester, as we can’t just go off and have coffee with a friend, or what have you.

    Wishing all the best for you and Andy, now and in the years to come. Love from us both, Mufidah & Sean

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Awww thank you so much Mufidah.. I didn’t realise yours was a comparatively new relationship.. for some reason I thought you had been with Sean a very long time .. It’s all very exciting isn’t it 🙂

  3. drawandshoot says:

    Hi Helen,
    I seem to be always trying to catch up on things, and catching up with this post makes me very happy! Best wishes for you both. xx

    : )

  4. Rachael says:

    Lovely news. Congratulations!

  5. bananabatman says:

    I can only say congratulations, and wish you both all the best for 2014, and beyond.

  6. totsymae1011 says:

    Hah! You were ever so the pessimist, if I recall correctly. I see you blushing all over this page 🙂 Perhaps you and Andy have learned so much that being with each other won’t be such hard work. That you have open communication takes a lot of guess work out and honesty is key. Those two elements make for success.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Thanks Totsymae…. I think you mean I was a serious person 😉 which I guess I still am.. always concerned about the injustices of the world. I don’t think that will ever change! I am thankful to have this opportunity .. and happy as you can tell !

  7. […] The post is  called  A New Relationship ? Yes but it’s Early Days […]

  8. Marleen Vervoort says:

    Wonderful news!!! Wishing you two all the best for the future!!!

  9. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh great stuff, wonderful!!! Go for it, Helen, go for it, and I wish you two all the best, I hope the whole thing goes wonderfully – such things are a big part of what Life is all about! Adrian 🙂

  10. ellyhuizinga says:

    Wish you all the best , the two of you together!

  11. LensScaper says:

    What delightful news for the new year. All the very best to you both.

  12. […] A New Relationship? Yes but it’s Early Days !! « 1500 Saturdays…. […]

  13. scillagrace says:

    It’s amazing how the maturity of adult communication provides a safe place for our inner child to come out and play & explore without fear! An enthusiastic cheer of encouragement and joy for both of you! (does Andy post his photos, too?)

  14. cewarnes says:

    Really happy for you, wishing you both a wonderful 2014 x

Leave a Reply

