60th Birthday Treat in Puglia.

_1551

.

Saturday 1380  – 15.02.2014  

( a bit late I know !)

_1548Yes indeedy I am 60… SIXTY !! isn’t that crazy ?.. Of course it’s only a number but rather a large one don’t you think?  To be honest I feel a bit of a fraud because it seems faintly ridiculous to be such an age . My thinking is that my birth certificate must be wrong !  Surely?

My actual birthday was on Tuesday 11th Feb and I spent it, and the following week, with my children, Katy and Steven, in Puglia in southern Italy ( in the heel of the boot as it were ) 

_1547When I was 50 I had suggested to the kids that I might bring them to Barbados.. Ha! ….What was I thinking ! That I was going to be rich maybe .

Well that didn’t happen so I ended up bringing them to Italy instead but they didn’t seem to mind 😉   family is everything and I am so lucky to have 2 such delightful children and to be able to spend time with them surrounded by such beauty.

_1546

How I Loooooove Italy 🙂

On this Saturday we spent the day visiting Ostuni and walked around in brilliant warm sunshine graced with the bluest of skies.  So here are some typical photos of this lovely, brilliant-white town with its little alleyways and steep roads. There are strict rules about colours and materials that can be used. White, green, blue and wood.

_1545

_1550

Some of the roads were so narrow the only place to park your scooter was inside your shop!!

_1549

By the way the photo at the top of this post is of the Trullo we stayed in ( it was actually 3 trulli joined together) and our roofs are at the back of this photo, which was taken in the delicious morning golden hour.  We were surrounded by Olive trees… It was Heaven

Sorry to all those people who are struggling with snow at the moment ! 😦  

You can read more about Ostuni here   and more about Trulli here

As ever I welcome your thoughts .

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here  and there will be more photos from Puglia over there in the next days

.

22 comments on “60th Birthday Treat in Puglia.

  1. Rachael says:

    Happy birthday! Puglia is probably a lot more interesting than anywhere in the Caribbean anyway. Culture and history!

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    Yeah, you’re very late Ms. Missy. Out there in Italy adding up years and whatnot. Those are some mighty fine photos you have there. I’m tempted to steal one and paint it.

  3. First, very Happy Birthday. So nice you could spend it someplace so wonderful with your children.

    Love the pictures! I also love the town has strict guidelines on colors, makes it even more lovely I think.

  4. Pranav Lal says:

    Happy belated birthday!!! Glad you had fun!

  5. scillagrace says:

    Happy Birthday, Helen!! And I accept your apology. Yes, it’s still snowing here, and yes, I am jealous….and Steve reprimanded me sharply for that. What a beautiful Mediterranean village! Sounds like a great place to explore with favorite people. 🙂

  6. bananabatman says:

    A belated Happy Birthday Helen. Sixty is a mere nothing. It looks like it was a lovely break and I am envious of the weather.

  7. So glad you enjoyed Puglia and that the weather was lovely for you. Ostuni was one of our favourite towns, and it’s very photogenic 🙂

  8. Congratulations and Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

