Weekly Photo Challenge: Art

_1624

.

Saturday 1368  – 17.05.2014

If you are new to my blog take a look at my About page here

.

_1625I spent Saturday 17th May doing 2 of my most favourite things – being outdoors on a warm sunny day and admiring awesome sculpture. What more could a body ask for ? 

It’s well-known that human beings need food, water, shelter, warmth, sex, safety and community in order to survive effectively but they also need beauty and for me there are few things more beautiful than nature and art. 

When you get these 2 things together in the form of landscape filled with sculptures then that is seventh heaven for me.

I was lucky enough to visit just such a place on Saturday and the place in question was the Henry Moore Foundation, situated where Henry Moore used to live.

You can find out more about the foundation here http://www.henry-moore.org/ 

_1627

I particularly love sculpture as an art form because I’m a very tactile person and sculpture lends itself to having hands stroking it 😉

The Henry Moore Foundation allows people to touch the sculptures that are outside in the fields, though not the ones in the galleries inside, and touch them you must because these works are crying out for it. They need to be felt.

_1631Henry Moore’s sculptures are at once both monumental and intimate. The intimacy for me comes from the sensuous nature of much of Moore’s work. His bronzes are organic; the earthiness of the rough, unpolished sections slide down to gorgeous, shiny worn coppery areas. When the sculptures are then further blended with a green landscape and are caught by the sun I feel as though I am witnessing perfection in art. An almost meditative experience that induces both emotion and a sense of serenity in me.

Take another look at the sculpture “Family Piece” at the top of this post. Doesn’t it have a sense of dignity about it ?   I am showing the back of it because I wanted you to see the delicate and protective way the  father’s hand rests on the mother’s shoulder. They are holding a child between them, in an act of sharing. Do you see how this piece blends with the landscape around it?

One of my particular favourites at the Foundation is a large bronze called the Sheep Piece which Henry Moore sculpted in 1970-71 . He placed this sculpture in a field of sheep and very much enjoyed the way they interacted with it. I love sheep and really enjoyed watching them too. Here are a few photos.

_1628.

Yes this lamb  below is giving his back a good rub against the bronze. Bliss !

.

_1629.

_1630

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Do you have a favourite art form?

.

Saturday girl signing off.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here 

.

18 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Art

  1. niasunset says:

    Art in UK, especially sculpture makes me excited, and also fascinates too. For me this is amazing way of art… sculture in nature… both standing amazing, nature and human world… and also the great harmony between them hits me too. And these Henry Moore sculptures fascinated me once again. Thank you dear Helen, and welcome back to the Blogging World, I miss your camera 🙂 Love, nia

  2. All terrific, but that fifth image-delightful.

  3. My Heartsong says:

    Now that’s functional art! Used to see a lot of Henry Moore’s work at the Art Gallery of Ontario. Just reading about Claus Oldenburg’s process used to fascinate me about his work..

  4. cewarnes says:

    love these pictures Helen, especially the lambs amongst the statues 🙂

  5. CAROL TACQ says:

    Lovely place, isn’t it.  I’ve been there a couple of times with my U3A art appreciation group. 

    When I was growing up in Somerset, the garden that my father tended had several sculptures, including Henry Moore’s Draped Torso.  He made three of these; I don’t know what happened to the Sparkford one but I recently found another in the art gallery in Hull.  Henry Moore was not only a great artist but also an astute businessman – a rare combination in the art world.

    Have a good weekend.

    Carol x

    ________________________________

  6. Rachael says:

    Beautiful, Helen. Love the sheep peeping out from the statue. My favourite shot is no.4 though. It takes some skill to find such an angle, one that perfectly epitomises what you say about intimacy.

  7. Beautiful, love it. Peaceful setting and lovely pieces.

  8. scillagrace says:

    I love it! Wool-polished bronze! Steve chimes in, “Yeah, I like Henry Moore’s work.” (I’d never heard of him before.) “Reminds me of Maude.” (In the movie “Harold & Maude” – she has a wooden sculpture so sexy it’s wicked!)

  9. Sheep + art = a lot of fun and cool pictures 🙂

  10. totsymae1011 says:

    Yep, I know Moore’s work. Very serene pieces and no matter how many times you look at them, you can always pull away a different story. I remember being in school and taping a photo of his work in my sketchbook for inspiration. Still have it too.

Leave a Reply

