Roll Up, Roll Up.. It’s time for the Circus!!

Saturday 1426 – 30th March 2013

Fun, Fun, Fun…. 

_779

This morning I thought, What will I do with myself today?  I went to the gym and did some housework but as it was snowing a bit and bitterly cold it was tempting just to lay about and do nothing else but I can’t do that as this is Saturday!!  If you’ve been following for a while, or if you read my about page, you’ll know that one of the reasons I started this blog was to encourage myself to do stuff on the Saturdays I have left and fun stuff was included in the list, as was photography.  I didn’t want to do one of my more thoughtful ( political, activist!) posts, I wanted to have some fun so I went to the circus… as you do at 59 with no young children or grandchildren to bring as an excuse 🙂 …  and took lots of photos.

_769…._770

Mr Fips Wonder Circus was the circus in question -with acrobats, jugglers, some magic,  the calamitous clown Mr Fip himself and none other than Spiderman!  Thankfully no wild animals or I wouldn’t have gone.. a few “my little ponies” though.

_774

A small but perfectly formed circus, certainly not the Billy Smart’s big top that I remember going to as a child. It had a tent which was possibly 2 or 3 times the size of Mr Fip’s tent. The circus did have lots of sawdust in the ring though and the usual selection of Candy Floss ( cotton candy it was called – not right that!! ) hot dogs, popcorn and rather more unusually a crepes stand, all of which I managed to resist.

.._775_776

_771There was lots of hamming it up between the rather handsome ringmaster and Mr Fip’s the clown , all in the very best circus tradition.. The only disappointment for me was that there was only a small audience which was such a pity. Don’t parents bring their children to the circus anymore for some good clean family fun which seems to be a rarity these days?

The children and adults that shared the experience with me seemed to be really enjoying themselves and there was lots of audience participation. I certainly had a great time especially taking photos, which was challenging because of the difficult and ever-changing lighting conditions.

Right that’s enough chat from me, I hope you are enjoying the show through my photos 😀 and if you see this Circus advertised in a town near you, I am happy to commend it to you.

_777…._778

.

_781

.

_773.

A link to Mr Fips Wonder Circus facebook page http://www.facebook.com/MrFipsWonderCircus?ref=ts&fref=ts

A Saturday Girl, rejuvenated by fun, signing off until next week. Make sure you schedule in some fun.

.

You can find my photography blog Photomania here and I hope you’ll pop over and take a look if you haven’t already.. Photos of all sorts over there and,  at some time, there are bound to be some from this circus too 😀

.

23 comments on “Roll Up, Roll Up.. It’s time for the Circus!!

  1. […] static images are the only way to go or perhaps slow motion video. See the following post titled Roll Up, Roll Up.. It’s time for the Circus!! by Hellen Cherry. It relates her experiences of visiting a circus and has nicely alt tagged images. […]

  2. […] This post is rather different to the fun of last weeks “Roll Up, Roll Up.. It’s Time for the Circus” which you can read here […]

  3. […] Take a look at this weeks post on 1500 Saturdays which is called “Roll Up, Roll up, It’s time for the Circus” .You can read it by clicking on the link here […]

  4. Your first shot is a great one!

  5. […] Take a look at this weeks post on 1500 Saturdays which is called “Roll Up, Roll up, It’s time for the Circus” .You can read it by clicking on the link here […]

  6. mary haren says:

    lovely photos, Helen. I hope you have a warm Easter!!!

  7. ellyhuizinga says:

    I really like the pancakes picture, it looks like a picture in the old days. Very nice and
    atmospheric !

  8. I love the circus and actually traveled with one the summer I was 18 all through Mexico. Such a fun experience.

    • Helen Cherry says:

      Oh Valentine.. what fun, what were you doing in the circus??

      • I actually didn’t do anything, it is a long story. A friend was engaged to one of the Trapeze artists, she was underage to travel beyond the 50 mile radius of the border so I became her legal guardian for the summer before the married.

        Strange as it sounds, at that age I was the legal guardian of a 17 year-old. But it was great fun, a wonderful experience.

  9. Fantastic photos Helen. Ah yes, Billy Smart’s Circus, I remember it well.

  10. puttyfoot says:

    love these Helen well done on getting some good shots!

  11. Genette Midwinter says:

    My partner, myself and my 15year old daughter went to the circus for my 40th last year, it was wonderful, the whole circus sang Happy Birthday to me! 14 or 40 – that’s special!
    These guys work really hard, in our circus each person played at least two roles, including manning the concession stands in the interval. Well worth supporting, loads of good clean family fun.
    Your photos capture the energy, daring and playfulness of the show, Wonderful 😀

    • Helen Cherry says:

      A great experience Gen, love the idea of having a circus singing Happy Birthday to me 😀 .. all the members of this circus were doing meet and greet and showing people to their seats..

  12. scillagrace says:

    I never went to a circus as a child…I went to the Cirque du Soleil as an adult when it was in a tent at Navy Pier in Chicago…before they got so famous that they moved to Las Vegas. These are great photos!

    • Helen Cherry says:

      A pity you didn’t go as a child Scilla.. did you bring your children when they were young?

      • scillagrace says:

        I think the circus is much more common in the UK and Europe than in the US. We have Disney and amusement parks, state fairs, carnivals and such, but not circus. Games, rides, the midway, but not live circus like Barnum & Bailey any more. Pity.

  13. […] Posting this as an excuse to direct you towards this weeks post on 1500 Saturdays which is called ”Roll Up, Roll up, It’s time for the Circus” .You can read it by clicking on the link here […]

Leave a comment